The Clock ticks and it says nine,
I grab my bag and run to hide,
“I have an ache in my tiny stomach,
Mommy I think I should rest on the hammock”

My mom buys it and I am free,
With games and friends I will glee,
No more division of my cells,
Now I will play with my few friends.

The homework won’t bother for another day, 
That monster I have slayed is gonna stay,
In the books where it does belong,
Not in my brain to make it numb. 

Billy the bully won’t throw me on ground,
I won’t be pinned in the “lost and found”
I will enjoy the relishing dessert,
And afterwards maybe, a little homework. 

The clock says its ten and now I rest, 
Mommy don’t know about the pain in my chest, 
Maybe it will stop after I doze off, 
Or as the uncle said when the clock will stop. 
It’s a weird looking device on my wrist,
The numbers don’t go up, maybe it’s stupid,

Mommy cried again, she yelled in the phone,
Daddy has left, he is never home, 
The Clocks in my house are never the same, 
But if my clock says zero I will win the game. 

Leave a Reply

